Some people find the idea of a website storing information on their computer or mobile device a bit intrusive, particularly when this information is stored and used by a third party without them knowing. Although this is generally quite harmless you may not, for example, want to see advertising that has been targeted to your interests. If you prefer, it is possible to block some or all cookies, or even to delete cookies that have already been set; but you need to be aware that you might lose some functions of that website.

Policy and Resources Committee

Covid-19 Update 

Following the most recent Government advice, we are reviewing all upcoming Authority and Committee meetings (including Planning Committee) and we will update this page as soon as possible with further information.  We thank you for your patience at this challenging time.

Policy and resources Committee

The Policy and Resources Committee has amalgamated the former Policy and Performance Committee and Governance Committee, with effect from 11 July 2017.

All past Policy and Programme Committee papers and all past Governance Committee papers can be found on their respective pages.

The role of the Policy & Resources Committee is to discuss the Authority’s budget, business plan, to approve appropriate resource plans, to agree the submissions of bids for grant funding, and the arrangements for application of grant funds received, to monitor and review the delivery of the Management Plan, ensure good governance of the Authority by overseeing and reviewing its arrangements for audit, financial control and risk managements any by promoting high standards of conduct.

The Committees Terms of Reference are available in appendix 4 of the Authority’s Standing Orders

All Policy & Resources Committee meetings are held at South Downs Centre, North Street, Midhurst, GU29 9DH

Please note that there is no public parking outside the Hall for attendees of these meetings. All vehicles should be parked at the North Street, pay & display car park across the road from the South Downs Centre. Blue badge holders, please contact or call 01730 814810 to arrange parking outside the venue.

The Policy & Resources Committee comprises of thirteen Members of the South Downs National Park Authority, as follows:

  • Sebastian Anstruther (Deputy Chair)
  • Ken Bodfish (Chair)
  • Helen Burton
  • Chris Dowling
  • Chris Henry
  • Helen Jackson
  • Doug Jones (Deputy Chair)
  • Michael Lunn
  • Russell Oppenheimer
  • Henry Potter
  • Andrew Shaxson
  • Isabel Thurston
  • Richard Waring
  • Tom Fourcade (Independent Member)
  • Carole Nicholson (Independent Member)
  • Margaret Paren (ex officio)
  • Ian Phllips (ex officio)

These meetings are open to the public. Members of the public have the opportunity to speak at these meetings. Please see our public participation page for further information.

The Openness of Local Government Bodies Regulations are in force, giving a right to members of the public to record (film, photograph and audio-record) and report on proceedings at committee meetings. Please read our Filming, Recording and Reporting of SDNPA Meetings Protocol for more information.

Forthcoming meetings

Previous meetings