fbpx Skip to main content

The Sussex Heritage Coast

The Sussex Heritage Coast

The Sussex Heritage Coast stretches from Eastbourne, along the iconic chalk cliffs of Beachy Head and the Seven Sisters, past Cuckmere Haven and on to Splash Point at Seaford.

This was the first Heritage Coast established as part of a plan to protect and conserve the best stretches of undeveloped coast in England. More than a million people visit the Sussex Heritage Coast each year.

The Sussex Heritage Coast group includes Eastbourne Borough Council and the National Trust, who own much of the area, the South Downs National Park Authority, East Sussex County Council, the Environment Agency, Sussex IFCA, Lewes District Council, Natural England, Sussex Wildlife Trust and Wealden District Council.

The Heritage Coast group have published a joint strategy and action plan setting out how the area will be managed for wildlife, landscape, tourism, recreation, heritage and the local community from 2016-20.

Sussex Heritage Coast – A strategy and action plan 2016-20


"The Downs...too much for one pair of eyes, enough to float a whole population in happiness."