fbpx Skip to main content

South Downs Centre - Temporary Closure

The South Downs Centre in Midhurst is temporarily closed to visitors but our team are still on hand to answer your calls and emails.

How We Make Decisions

How We Make Decisions

The South Downs National Park Authority is run by a board of 27 Members:

  • 7 are appointed by the Secretary of State through an open recruitment process
  • 6 are nominated by Parish/Town Councils or Parish Meetings within the National Park
  • 14 are appointed by each of the 15 local authorities covering the National Park area (Adur and Worthing have opted to share a place).

The vast majority of decisions are made by Members either at Authority Meetings or Committee Meetings.


" The Downs...too much for one pair of eyes, enough to float a whole population in happiness. "