fbpx Skip to main content

Governance Committee

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee has replaced the former Standards and Audit Committee, with effect from 1 January 2014. All past Standards & Audit Committee papers can be found here.

The role of the Governance Committee is to ensure good governance of the Authority by overseeing and reviewing its arrangements for audit, financial control and risk management and by promoting high standards of conduct.

The Committees Terms of Reference are available in appendix 4 of the Standing Orders

All Governance Committee meetings are held at South Downs Centre, North Street, Midhurst, GU29 9DH.

Please note that there is no public parking outside the Hall for attendees of these meetings. All vehicles should be parked at the North Street, pay & display car park across the road from the South Downs Centre. Blue badge holders, please contact committee.officer@southdowns.gov.uk or call 01730 814810 to arrange parking outside the venue.

The Governance Committee comprises six Members of the South Downs National Park Authority, and two independent members, as follows:

  • Sebastian Anstruther (Deputy Chair)
  • Norman Dingemans (Chair)
  • Gill Mattock
  • Jim Sheppard
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
  • Lewis Doyle (Independent member of Committee)
  • Carole Nicholson (Independent member of Committee)
  • Neville Harrison (ex officio)
  • Alun Alesbury (ex officio)
  • Margaret Paren (ex officio)

These meetings are open to the public. Members of the public have the opportunity to speak at these meetings. Please see our Public Participation page for further information.

The Openness of Local Government Bodies Regulations are in force, giving a right to members of the public to record (film,, photograph and audio-record) and report on proceedings at committee meetings. Please read our Filming, Recording and Reporting of SDNPA Meetings Protocol for more information.

Forthcoming meetings

Previous meetings

"The Downs...too much for one pair of eyes, enough to float a whole population in happiness."