Three Neighbourhood Plans at pre-submission consultation

Neighbourhood planning is a right for communities introduced through the Localism Act 2011. Communities can shape development in their areas through the production of Neighbourhood Development Plans, Neighbourhood Development Orders and Community Right to Build Orders. These tools provide the perfect opportunity for communities to take a more active approach to shaping their environment and meeting local needs.

In the South Downs National Park there are 50 Neighbourhood Plans in production. A number of these Neighbourhood Plans have been made (adopted) and are now used by the Local Planning Authority in the determination of Planning applications.

Three of our communities have reached a critical stage in the preparation of their neighbourhood plans and have recently published their plans for public comment. The Pre Submission consultation is a key stage in preparing a Neighbourhood Plan as it’s the first formal stage of public consultation and is a great opportunity for communities to influence the content of their Neighbourhood Plan.

The three Neighbourhood Plans currently at Pre Submission consultation are: